Not knowing this is a big cause of black people’s lack of confidence and mental health problems. It IS that bad. And, worse.

innerstanding isness

Yolanda Spivey

Before I begin, let me quote the late, great, Booker T. Washington who said, “Of all forms of slavery there is none that is so harmful and degrading as that form of slavery which tempts one human being to hate another by reason of his race or color.”

For two years, I have been unemployed. In the beginning, I applied to more than three hundred open positions in the insurance industry—an industry that I’ve worked in for the previous ten years. Not one employer responded to my resume. So, I enrolled back into college to finish my degree. After completing school this past May, I resumed my search for employment and was quite shocked that I wasn’t getting a single response. I usually applied for positions advertised on the popular website Monster.com. I’d used it in the past and have been successful in obtaining…

View original post 805 more words

2 Responses to “”

  1. Hopefully this will curtail the insidious mantra that ” Black women are getting all the jobs.” Let us be clear that as long as employment from creatures who hate us continues to be our paradigm – we are ALL screwed. We understand that at this point some of us must work for them, but we need to get about the business of creating intra-employment and structure our lives such that we depend on creatures who are bent on destroying us less and less.

  2. Kushite Prince Says:

    @Cree Great article. I’ve always thought black people need to talk openly about our mental health. There’s no way a people can live under terrorism(white supremacy) and have it not affect their mental health. It seems as though black people don’t like to see doctors—-they go to church to cope. But there’s no denying that we are in a lot of pain living under constant oppression under these “people”.

Leave a Reply

