I’d say, “if there is no middle,” as Mr. Nakagawa writes, then everyone is either functioning as “black” or “white.” Can he get with that?

Moorbey'z Blog

Written by: Scot Nakagawa

Scot Nakagawa

This article originally appeared at Racefiles.wordpress.com.

I’m often asked why I’ve focused so much more on anti-black racism than on Asians over the years. Some suggest I suffer from internalized racism.

That might well be true, since who doesn’t suffer from internalized racism?  I mean, even white people internalize racism. The difference is that white people’s internalized racism is against people of color, and it’s backed up by those who control societal institutions and capital.

But some folk have more on their minds.  They say that focusing on black and white reinforces a false racial binary that marginalizes the experiences of non-black people of color. No argument here. But I also think that trying to mix things up by putting non-black people of color in the middle is a problem because there’s no “middle.”

So there’s most of my answer. I’m sure I…

View original post 695 more words

5 Responses to “”

  1. Kushite Prince Says:

    @Cree Great! I’ll be sure to check out the show.
    Yes,I’ve noticed alot of Filipinos are into black culture. They love rap,hip hop dancing and urban culture. I had a Filipino friend who told me that they’re seen as ‘different” than other asians. He told me that Chinese and Japanese people would sometime talk down to him. There’s definitely a racial caste system in asian and hispanic culture. The darker you are the more discrimination you’ll face. All minorities have been affected by living under white supremacy.
    Yes I’ve been to Eastlake a few times. They have some nice homes up there. I know the area fairly well. I have family in San Diego and Chula Vista.

  2. CREE-EIGHT Says:

    Mr. Nkagawa is the scheduled guest on 5/17/12 @ 6PM Pacific/ 9PM Central. I, too, think it will be a most interesting conversation.

    As for Filipinos, many of them who look more Malay and less Chinese are colored and featured so much like the original “Negritos” that I do not think of them as “Asian.” There is a high school here in San Diego that is close to 90% Filipino—most of them dark. And, their test scores are worse than those of the school up the road whose student body is about 50-50 “African-American” and “Hispanic.” The lighter-skinned more “east Asian” looking students reside many miles away in an affluent part of San Diego County called Eastlake.

  3. Kushite Prince Says:

    @Cree That’s a very unique Asian man. But there are a few out there who are against white supremacy and not white washed. I knew a Filipino girl in high school that was like that. She only dated black men,so they may have had something to do with it. But you don’t run into too many Asians with that type of mentality. Let me know when he’s on your show. I’d like to check it out. I’m sure it’ll be pretty interesting.

  4. CREE-EIGHT Says:

    Just invited him, BluePill.

  5. Good question, he’d make a great guest on your show CREE.

Leave a Reply

