Black Survival

In light of Hurricane Sandy I thought this post would be very fitting. You never know when something like that could happen in your neighborhood. And these bad storms have been increasing over the years. This got me to thinking about what a person would need to survive for a few days. Or what about a few months? Some people are saying we should prepare for at least 7 days, but the way things go after a hurricane, tornado, floods, loss of electricity and the fact that these disasters will continue and perhaps even get worse in coming years according to trends, one week is not enough.  Some have said 7 years, but that seems too long so do what you can.  Be sure to use the older stocked goods first and replace them with new.  Otherwise you will end up with all old food you might not even want…

View original post 1,781 more words

7 Responses to “”

  1. @LBM
    “if a natural disaster takes the home – with the guns and canned goods in it – will you be able to recuperate with the significant other presently in your home?”

    This is a question we all have to ask ourselves. Preparation and planning are key. The whole family needs to be on board.

    “I do put extra responsibility on adult males in a household – not just in terms of firearm protection but in terms of being WILLING to go out and do/get what’s necessary for the home.”

    That should be a given. Any man not doing that is not being responsible as a man. There’s no excuses for sending a woman out late at night to see what’s going on. That’s just sad and cowardice.

  2. Note: The Cleveland bus driver did get fired as of last Tuesday.

    KP – I agree, We need to feel sure that all the members of our household will be able to deal in a crisis. One of the things I suggest is getting young people into fasting early – or at least have periods of one-meal-per-day. So if it comes to that, it won’t be unfamiliar to them and they won’t panic. I do put extra responsibility on adult males in a household – not just in terms of firearm protection but in terms of being WILLING to go out and do/get what’s necessary for the home, provided there’s still a home. I unfortunately know of cases in which dudes were unwilling to wait on gas lines – either for the car or with canisters to take back for generators. Really? We weren’t hit that hard but someone had to go on the roof several times to clear the gutter of wet leaves. If it were me and children, of course I would have done it. But with a man in the home, of course he did it as well as help a neighbor with a fallen tree. I’m jus sayin’….some folk ain’t worth dodo now and will only be a further hindrance in a crisis. We need to be real about who will be capable and who will be willing. If a natural disaster takes the home – with the guns and canned goods in it – will you be able to recuperate with the significant other presently in your home?

  3. @LBM Those are some very good questions to ask. It’s important that men are ready and capable to protect their families.I think it’s also important to get family and friends involved. Awareness and preparation are KEY!

  4. I absolutely agree that we need to have provisions and protection in the event of an emergency. And now may also be the time to take inventory of the bodies we have in our households. We need to ask that proverbial question : If I’m down in the trenches, would I want___________ down there with me? Can I count on _________to be down there with me? I’m hoping that each of us who lay with someone each night can at least fill their name in, affirmatively.

  5. It’s okay,it takes time. Just make a small list and add on to it weekly. I don’t have half that stuff myself. I do have canned goods,water,weapons,emergency kits and flashlights. But it’s a work in progress. Just stay on the path though. It’s important we be ready.

  6. CREE-EIGHT Says:

    Absolutely, KP. Thanks for the report. Sonny and I need to do more preparations. If it went down tonight, we would not be ready.

  7. Thanks for the reblog,sis. I think this information can very useful in the future. Too many of our people are just sitting around doing nothing. While white folks are stocking up on food,water,guns and bullets. How do I know? because I go to Bass Pro Shop and check out the hunting gear. And it’s 85% white men and their children. My brother in law and myself get some strange looks when we’re there. I guess they’re not used to seeing black people getting prepared like they do.lol But believe me,they feel like they’re losing “their” country because a n*gger is in office. They fear some type of revolution by either blacks or Mexicans or both. Who knows? We have to worry about ourselves at this point. I don’t have time to explain to these ignorant hicks how the political process REALLY works. I suggest you and Sonny get prepared if you haven’t already. This is about the survival of our people. Tell your family and friends to get prepared NOW. I think things are about to pick up speed real soon. It’s best to stay ready so you don’t have to GET ready!

Leave a Reply

