Unhappily Nappy: Dr. Oz Teaches Black Women How To Deal With Their Kinky Curly Natural Hair

“To the extent that racists have anything to do with it, its effect will be racist”— Neely Fuller, Jr..

This is just another step in white folks steering us into what is and what is not “acceptable” appearing natural hair for us.Let’s not fall for the banana in the tail-pipe again.

We’ve seen this before and how it turns out. It’s how Melvin Van Peebles’ ground-breaking film, Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song, turned into white-financed Super Fly and Hustle & Flow. It’s how the “natural” turned into the “afro” and then the afro with a “blow-out kit” (mild lye relaxer) and then into the Jheri curl. And, let’s be clear: Even the woman who had her hair chopped does not have hair most typical of black people who are unmixed.

It’s how the walk out of Virgina public schools for equal facilities turned into the nation-wide fight to attend their schools. ENOUGH already.

We can study their materials for our own purposes. But, we should know by now that it is better to learn from the mistakes of our own judgment than
to EVER consider their counsel.

Bossip

hairoz2

Would you let Dr. Oz do your big chop??

View original post 238 more words

13 Responses to “Unhappily Nappy: Dr. Oz Teaches Black Women How To Deal With Their Kinky Curly Natural Hair”

  1. @Cree
    This brother really breaks it down! I love his posts. He’s one of the few brothers I’ve seen that articulates exactly how I feel. I think you’ll like this post. Be sure to subscribe to his blog if you haven’t already.

    http://realnewspaper.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/nappy/
    Let me know what you think.

  2. @LBM
    Yeah I hear you. That’s a very scary thought.lol

  3. KP, the sad part is how many of us will actually take that class.

  4. Dr Oz teaching sistas about hair??LOL!! This must be a joke! These albino creatures are quite fascinating.lol What’s next? Rush Limbaugh teaching a class on African culture? These white folks are something else!lol

  5. I have some church women in my family who have some really cute wigs, so nothing against nice wigs or tasteful weaves or extensions. I’ve seen some sisters rocking the natural look pieces for a fuller look. Many of the young sisters are rocking the extended Senegalese twists in Brooklyn. It can be fun and tasteful. But it’s true – many sisters are wearing some crazy looking and downright nasty stuff up on their heads. The concern is the clownishness but mores the health effects that are mounting as those glues are literally stripping away skin as well as causing infections, burns and irreparable balding. Dick Gregory once reminded us of the decades of black females getting their ears and neck a little burned with the hot comb – but not until the chemical mutilators did we start to see the fibroid issue explode. So this is indeed a very real physical health issue….Some more population control.

    As for the mental health of it all – we, and our menfolk are so steeped in denial about our anti-blackness…. the racists will be able to use the beauty pulpit for a while to come.

  6. @ LBM

    I have to agree with you that WE are the competition, not the white male or the white female (or HIspanics or Asians).

    This is why it is so easy to “get along” with partners of other races because we are not competing with them (which I interpret as they have already won the race in our minds).

    we expect white people to have more, to be more, etc, so when they do have more and do more we are cool and comfortable with that.

    Much of what I post on this subject came from black men I know who told me what was going on. Because it puzzled me to no end when I was younger why it seemed so many males were competing with me like we were both women. I couldn’t understand it.

    There are some weaves that make me pause in my tracks, I gotta be honest about that, but it makes me sad because of the self-esteem damage that I believe is at the root cause of wearing weaves are are not flattering. I don’t degrade women wearing weaves or wigs, I don’t make fun of them, I don’t engage in demeaning and condemning conversation with other people about them but it greatly concerns me when I see the really bad ones.

    you’re right, there’s no shield against abuse, whether we wear our hair weaved or natural,
    I

  7. “…that the black female wearing and loving her NATURAL HAIR was threatening to those who want us to stay in that low-self-esteemed, easily manipulated state of mind, which sadly, includes a lot of black males”.

    Pam, Black women unfortunately find ourselves in a position in which our men compare themselves to us rather than to other men in the world. The pathology is so funky that many of them feel better about themselves when we feel negative about ourselves. Rather than show empathy and support many of them jump on the racist’s wagon of denigrating black women.

    I wouldn’t necessarily feel any type of way about crazy weaved sistas seeming to have black male partners because domestic violence and maternal homicide is so high in our “communities” it’s obvious that a willingness to self-inflict abuse is no shield – and hell, may in fact be an invitation to further abuse.

  8. CREE-EIGHT Says:

    Kahalid, I am as unable to answer that question as I am unable to answer the question of what is actually being said in the statement, “I am here.” To me, it is a self-evident statement.

  9. What is actually being said here…?

  10. @ LBM

    I agree and my first thought upon reading this was:

    When will the madness stop?

    the thing i’ve learned over the years is the biggest crime you can commit as a black female when around low-self-esteemed people (or any color) is to have some yourself.

    it seems the presence of an empowered black female generates a bizarre mix of emotions among many people, and one of them is fear

    and when it comes to black females’ hair — our only true Achilles heel, NO ONE wants us to feel good about it including many black males (unless it’s long and straight or wavy)

    Just for the record, I’m not male bashing just speaking from MY experiences.

    I made this observation a few days ago when I saw a brown-skinned black female with a horrific platinum blonde weave and my first thought was My God, can she not see how bad that looks?

    but my second thought was, wait a minute, I BET she’s got a boyfriend or a husband and I thought about all the black females I knew or knew of who had horrible looking weaves, and hair colors and wigs and many of them had men

    and THEN I thought about the black females who wore their hair natural and how many of them either had no man or husband or a white man or husband

    and I added to my own personal experiences that I was a LOT more popular and got a ton more attention from men when I had straightened hair than I do now with a nicely trimmed Afro

    and I couldn’t help but come to the conclusion that a lot of this black female weave and fake hair bashing was all BULLS**T

    that the black female wearing and loving her NATURAL HAIR was threatening to those who want us to stay in that low-self-esteemed, easily manipulated state of mind, which sadly, includes a lot of black males.

    I’ve had black males tell me that afros on black females is intimidating and makes us look “militant” and like we know who we are, that we’re confident, etc, etc, when in reality it’s just

    HAIR

    But it has taught me a valuable lesson. As long as black females ask for PERMISSION to love our hair, we’re going to keep needing it.

    the only people who can stop this madness of looking for permission to love our hair is US.

  11. Fabulous, honest, revealing truth! Thank you!

  12. CREE-EIGHT Says:

    Hear, hear Thy LBM!

  13. When Black women stop asking permission to be Black women, a revolution will be upon us.

    I so despise when black women put our natural hair or bodies or even complexion out for public critique – even by Black males. It just strikes me in a pathetic slave auction kinda way. This is but one of the tactics in the racist global effort to render Black women undesirable for mating (“population control”). Because as much as Dr. Welsing emphasizes the Black male penis, the racists know that Black people come from Black wombs and as much as they feign contempt for those Black males who promote their existence, they are far more concerned with that black sperm hooking up with the black womb. The attack on Black women’s natural beauty is but one of dual tactics (psychological & chemical) they’ve been thus far successful at using.

Leave a Reply

